Writing
Comments 2

On a train platform on the east coast of Taiwan

An old man started talking to me as I was waiting for the train. His teeth were stained red from chewing betel nut. He spoke to me in Chinese, and I couldn’t understand a word he was saying. I tried English, but he clearly didn’t understand. For a minute he spoke Chinese and I spoke English, both of us not really caring that the other one didn’t understand. Finally, I got an idea. “Do you speak Japanese?”, I asked. “A little bit”, he answered. We laughed, exchanged a few words, and boarded the train.

2 Comments

  1. Annemarie Engler says

    Lieber Simon, ich wünsche dir eine schöne Zeit. LG Annemarie

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

