General
Comments 2

My temporary apartment

Currently, I am living in a furnished apartment in the outskirts of Kyoto. From there it’s only a 15 min walk to the University’s Katsura Campus, where I work. My apartment is the leftmost one on the ground floor (hidden behind the grey box on the first picture).

When you come in, you are supposed to get out of your shoes in the dark area and never ever step onto the fake-wood floor with them. And conversely, you should never ever step onto the dark part barefooted. (I cheated a few times already but don’t tell anyone.) In the hallway there is a small kitchen and the washing machine which uses only cold water.

The bathroom is lined with a fully waterproof shell made of plastic. This means you are allowed to get really crazy when showering and squirt water everywhere. I think this is relevant information. Since the whole room is waterproof, there is no reason for the bathtub to have a valve for protection against overflowing. Actually, from discussions with my colleagues I got the impression that it’s important to fill the bathtub to the brim when you want to take a bath. That way, when you get in, the water will overflow but you can soak especially well because the tub is so full. In a sense, the gush of water going over the brim is part of the experience.

The toilet is luxurious. I really like to use it — especially when it’s very cold in the apartment — since the seat is heated. I don’t trust the bidet functions of this thing, though.

For its 21 m² the apartment feels spacious, which is partly due to the bed being on top of a walk-in closet (more of a crouch-in closet for me) and due to the fact that I don’t really have a lot of possessions right now.

My living room is a mess of drying clothes, a small foldable table with lots of stuff on it, internet and power cables, and two chairs but I still am showing you pictures of it in the spirit of full disclosure. Think of it as journalism.

This entry was posted in: General

2 Comments

  1. Very nice!

    There’s one thing I find extremely odd: the sink in the bath. Why is there a sink in the bath? Was that your only non-kitchen sink? Did you have to go into the bath to brush your teeth in the mornings?

    Like

  2. Yeah. It was very strange. I eventually started to use the sink in the kitchen when brushing my teeth, since I didn’t want to go into the shower room every time.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

